Mini ASOS Haul

15 May

This is my first haul post (well, a mini one) and I don’t know when I’m going to do another one, because I don’t really buy a lot of things, though I’m now always tempted to try new things after watching people’s beauty/fashion videos and blog posts. I think nowadays a lot of people like shopping online, but I’m never a fan of that, I guess it’s because my mom always tell me how insecure online shopping is and I like to try things on or see the actual product itself before buying it. However, since the day my friend introduced me to Asos.com, I became so addicted to it, checking their website for discounted items and so tempted to buy something from their website.

I eventually couldn’t resist the temptation and made a purchase. Well, this is actually my 2nd time buying things from Asos.com, the first time was a failure and I had to return the item back to them. At that time, I was looking for a make-up bag and saw a pretty Paul’s Boutique quilted wash bag on sale, it was a cream colour bag with a cute decoration, so I decided to get it. However, when I opened the parcel, it wasn’t what I was expecting, the colour and the texture of the wash bag didn’t match what I saw on their website. I immediately returned it and got a refund. So that’s one of the biggest reasons why I don’t like online shopping, I hate it when I can’t see the actual product before buying anything!

Failure to resist my temptation, I made my second purchase on Asos.com. This time I got a pocket mirror and a bronzing powder.

ASOS Parcel

ASOS Parcel

Parcel from Asos

Oh yes, I don’t have a pocket mirror, but since the day I started applying eyeliner and mascara on a regular basis, I’m always afraid that my eye make-up would smudge, so I feel like I need one. I have been looking for one for a long time, but couldn’t find one that I like. When I saw this pocket mirror from Cath Kidston, I immediately fell in love with it and decided to get it.

Cath Kidston Pocket Mirror

Cath Kidston Pocket Mirror

Pocket mirror from Cath Kidston (HKD$41.44)

Photo shown on Asos.com

Well, I think the photo I took doesn’t really reflect how it actually looks. The actual product is a bit smaller than I expected but I’m still okay with the size. The colour was a bit lighter than the photo shown on the website, and the image of the Buckingham Palace wasn’t as clear as shown too. Not totally satisfied with it, but it’s not expensive and the overall quality is still acceptable, so I would still keep it.

I think Asian girls are not really into bronzing powder, but the girls I follow on Youtube love using bronzer, especially during summer. My face is very big and round, so I would like to try using bronzing powder to help contour my face and to give a bit of tan during summer. I was choosing between Bourjois Delice de Poudre Bronzing Powder and Bourjois Delice de Soleil Bronzing Powder, as they are affordable and highly recommended drugstore products. I actually want to try the chocolate bronzer, but because Asos didn’t have the lighter shade, I went for the Delice de Soleil Bronzing Powder.

Bourjois Delice de Soleil Bronzing Powder

Bourjois Delice de Soleil Bronzing Powder

Bourjois Delice de Soleil Bronzing Powder

Swatch: Bourjois Delice de Soleil Bronzing Powder

Bourjois Delice de Soleil Bronzing Powder (12 fair/medim) (HKD$124.17)

I do like the packaging, especially the panoramic mirror, because it is practical and not there just for decoration purpose. I do have a blush from Bourjois, which I really like, but I have never been a fan of their brush, as they don’t feel soft on my skin. The bronzing powder seems to have a tiny amount of shimmer, but when applied on my skin, it gives a matte finish, which is something I was looking for. I’m now still trying to figure out how to correctly use the bronzing powder, so I won’t review it yet.

All in all, I like browsing Asos.com and looking for new-in products. I also like their free and fast shipping, it usually takes around 1 week for the products to arrive in Hong Kong, and not to mention the care they put into packing the parcel. However, I’m still not a huge fan of online shopping, so will only buy stuffs that are on sale or not available in Hong Kong.

Leave a Reply

