Review: May 2012 Glamabox

6 May

My third Glamabox arrived on 5th May. I feel like their method of delivery often surprises me; it was still delivered by Yamato Transport but they just suddenly bumped up at my door without calling me beforehand on Saturday. Anyway, let’s get into this month’s products!

May 2012 Glamabox

[Front: From left to right]
Ankang Beauty Restoring Essence
Shea Organics Shea Bath Balm
Caviar Skin Caviar Anti-Aging Essence
Kerasys Repairing Shampoo & Conditioner

[Back: From left to right]
Mask House Celebrity Snail Extract Moisturizing Gel Mask
Talika Bio-Enzyme Renaissance Mask

This month’s Glamabox included some things I’m excited about and some things I’m not too interested in. I have only heard of Talika and Mask House but have never tried any of the brands included in this month’s box. When I first saw the list, I was like “Oh, shampoo and conditioner again!?!”, but when I saw the packaging, I was like “Wow, I like the packaging, it’s perfect for travelling!”. So that’s a thumb’s up for Kerasys’ shampoo and conditioner, and it smells pretty good. I also like Shea Organics’ packaging, but I didn’t get the shea body butter; I got the shea bath balm and I can’t use it at all since I don’t have a bathtub at home!

To celebrate the coming of Mother’s Day, they included some anti-aging products. I’m not really interested in trying Caviar Skin’s product, as the packaging looks a bit cheap and unattractive to me. As for the 2 masks, I’m always interested in trying new masks, especially they are brands that I have never tried before. However, I’m not interested in the beauty drink, don’t think these type of products work and I feel like it’s going to taste gross, so let’s see how it goes!

Still going to stay subscribed at the moment, although I’m afraid I would end up having a bunch of samples and useless products at home. I wish they could include some make-up products!

P.S. Product reviews will be up once I have tried them.

  • Ankang Beauty Restoring Essence:
    As expected, it tastes gross! I firstly had a sip and couldn’t bare with the weird taste, so I got a cup of cold water, poured the whole bottle of beauty essence into it and kinda of forced myself to drink it. Well, I don’t think you would see any result by just drinking one bottle, but even if I’m given a full set of these beauty essence to try, I would not drink it again!

 

  • Mask House Celebrity Snail Extract Moisturizing Gel Mask
    The gel mask comes in 2 parts, which fits better than regular one-piece mask. However the packaging is bad. There’s a white plastic film and a clear plastic film, with the gel mask in between. I believe you are supposed to take the mask out, remove the white one, place it on your face and then remove the clear one, but that wasn’t the case at all. When I tried to pull out the mask from the packaging, the upper part of the mask was stuck with the lower part, and I ended up only pulling out the white plastic film, but not the mask.
    Then I tried to pull out the mask, but because it’s a gel mask, it’s slippery and hard to catch it, especially the two separate parts are sticking to each other. So it took me some time to get the mask out of the packaging, and it ended up pretty messy.
    Yes, I do like gel mask more than paper mask, as it feels like it is completely molded to your skin. However due to the bad packaging, I wasn’t able to put the mask on the exact spot, and it’s hard to move the gel mask once it’s placed on your face.
    It is moisturizing, and I feel like my skin has brighten up after using it, yet there is a little downside. Usually after I remove my mask, I will gently massage and pat my face so that the skin can absorb the remaining product. However, when I started massaging my face, some white flakes like eraser dust (if you know what I mean) appeared, which I don’t really like.
    Overall, I’m not sure if I will buy this mask again, it’s okay, but the packaging is really bad.
Leave a Reply

