Restaurant Review: La Creperie, Wai Chai

7 Apr

I had my first crepe when I was in France; I still remember my French teacher taking the whole class to a restaurant in Dijon that specializes in crepe , where I had a crepe with 4 different kinds of cheese and a sweet crepe with blackcurrant. I know there are 2 restaurants that specialize in crepe in Hong Kong, but didn’t have a chance to try it. It was Good Friday and I finally met up with 2 of my friends and tried out this restaurant.

La Creperie: Les Pierres Noires

Les Pierres Noires (HKD$118)

I had to struggle when choosing, because all of them seem very delicious, but in the end I made my decision and chose Les Pierres Noires, which has smoked ham, egg, Camembert cheese, tomatoes and some salad on the side. It was delicious, with a generous amount of smoked ham and Camembert cheese. Everything was nice, except the tomatoes weren’t great.

La Creperie: La Plougastel

La Plougastel (HKD$69)

We then ordered a sweet crepe to share among the 3 of us, which came with strawberries, strawberry ice-cream and some chocolate sauce. The strawberries were fresh and the strawberry ice-cream was delicious!

Environment: 8/10 (It wasn’t crowded during public holiday, pretty quiet)

Service: 7/10 (The service wasn’t really nice, the staff weren’t really enthusiastic)

Food:  8/10 (Pretty good if you wanna try French crepe)

Overall: Nice place to try some authentic crepe, but don’t expect their service to be great. Try their weekday set lunch as it’s a cheaper option.

Address: 1/F, Kui Chi Mansion, 100-102 Queen’s Road East, Wai Chai

Leave a Reply

