Review: The Balm, Down Boy

4 Apr

I have never heard of the brand “The Balm” before, but discovered it when I was wandering in Sasa. I went home to research the brand, and saw how people compare it with Benefit. I don’t own any Benefit products, but have always wanted to try them. Since people say they are pretty similar but The Balm is much cheaper, so I decided to give it a try.

I am particularly interested in their blush. At first I wanted to get Frat Boy, but Sasa didn’t have it, so I went for Down Boy. Some people may not like the packaging because of the “sexual” names and images. I actually like the playful vintage style, and also the magnetic cardboard packaging. It has a small mirror inside, not particularly useful for me as I don’t carry my blush around and touch-up during the day.

The Balm Down Boy

The Balm Down Boy (HKD$120)

I was a bit skeptical about this matte baby pink colour, a bit worried if it would look fake on my cheek and too pinkish. However, out of my expectation, it looks very natural on the cheek, though I think it’s not as flattering as my Bourjois blush on my skin tone.

The Balm Down Boy

Close up of The Balm Down Boy

The first time when I use my brush to pick up the product, it looks a bit chalky. However, once applied on my cheek, it applies smoothly. The product is pretty pigmented but blends in easily; I recommend applying with a light hand, and gradually build it up when necessary. It’s also fairly long-lasting, stays on my cheek for at least 6 hours.

Swatch: The Balm Down Boy

Swatch: The Balm Down Boy

I would also like to get hold of the other blushes and maybe try their concealer too! However there’s one BIG downside: it’s not easy to find their products in Hong Kong, I went to at least 4 Sasa stores, and finally found Down Boy at one of their Tsim Sha Tsui stores. Apparently not all Sasa stores sell their products, and even if they do, they do not carry the whole line and many products are out of stock.

If you don’t like pink blush, you may try Bourjois Little Round Pot Blush (Rose Ambre 74), my other favourite blush.

2 Responses to “Review: The Balm, Down Boy”

  1. Luminously Styled April 4, 2012 at 1:39 PM #

    Benefit has some cool products!

    xo Lisa

    • Adele April 4, 2012 at 1:47 PM #

      I know Benefit’s products are great and I love their packaging too! Maybe I will try out some of their products later.

Leave a Reply

