Review: March 2012 Glamabox

9 Mar

Since Glossybox stopped providing service, I decided to subscribe to Glamabox. My first Glamabox arrived on 7th March, however, I was not at home when the parcel came, so I had to go to the post office myself to pick it up the next day. It’s a safe method to make sure every customer receives their beauty box, however when compared to Glossybox’s delivery method, using the Hong Kong Registered Post is not that convenient for customers like me, who is not  always at home but has no other choice than sending the beauty box to home.

The Glamabox comes in a black cardboard box, and the beauty box itself is black with some pink patterns. Everything inside was packed and kept nicely. Well, to be honest, though they don’t really matter a lot to me, I think the February Glossybox’s packaging is prettier and the presentation is better than the Glamabox one.

Glamabox Black Delivery Box

Black Cardboard Box

Pink Glamabox

Pink Glamabox

Inside Glamabox

Nicely packed box with the card and product description

As expected, it comes with a card and a list of product description. This month, there are 6 products and some coupons. I think only the lipstick is a full-size product, others are just sample products. The vouchers and coupons aren’t very attractive to me, I might go and get the sample pack from Nature’s and Lierac Paris only if I have time.

March Products inside Glamabox

[From left to right]
Organix Moroccan Argan Oil Shampoo
Crabtree & Evelyn Gardeners 60-second Hand Recovery Cream
Clinique Different Lipstick (A Different Grape)
Lierac Paris Exclusive Intense Nuit Wrinkle-filing Night Cream
Lierac Paris Exclusive Ultra Jour Wrinkle-filing Day Cream
Nature’s Moisturizing Toner with Green Tea and Orange Water

This Glamabox comes with some familiar brands and new brands that I have never tried or heard of. I do have a few products from Clinique, including foundation, eye shadow and pressed powder; their products are usually of good quality and good value. I also have Crabtree & Evelyn’s handcream, but I don’t really like the texture and the lavender scent, so hopefully I would like this hand recovery cream. I have seen Organix’s products before in the States, but not sure if I have really seen their products in Hong Kong before, so I’m looking forward to trying their shampoo, which seems to smell pretty nice. As for the remaining two brands, I have never heard of them before. Lierac Paris seems to be a high-end brand, whereas Nature’s seems to be a bit more affordable and I’m quite interested in the toner they included in this month’s Glamabox.

Overall, I’m pretty satisfied with the March Glamabox and will continue to subscribe for now.

For more details about Glamabox, please visit  http://www.glamabox.com/hk/tc/

P.S. Product reviews will be up after I have tried them.

  • Clinique Different Lipstick (A Different Grape):
    When I first saw the word “Grape”, I was a bit skeptical about it, especially when it seems to be a pretty dark berry colour in the tube. However, on the lip, this berry red colour is very pretty and wearable, especially great for night look. It doesn’t make my lip looks flaky, and it feels smooth on my lip. I think the biggest problem is the packaging, I understand the green colour is in consistent with Clinique’s brand colour, but it is really not attractive at all.There’s one thing I don’t really understand too,  the whole “Different Lipstick” line is not available on Hong Kong’s website, but you can find them on Clinique’s US website, so why are they giving us these samples to try when we can’t buy them in Hong Kong?  Or are they going to launch these products in HK soon?
    Clinique A Different Grape
    Clinique A Different Grape in the tube
    Swatch: Clinique A Different Grape
    Swatch: Clinique A Different Grape
  • Crabtree & Evelyn Gardeners 60-second Hand Recovery Cream:
    When I pour out the product, it’s more like a liquid, but once I start rubbing the product onto my hands, it’s actually pretty thick with some chunky bits. My hands feel softer and hydrating after using it. The product itself is good, but I’m not sure if I would actually buy the full-size product.The first reason is because I didn’t really like the scent, I prefer something sweet and tasty when it comes to hand or body scrub. The second reason is because I like my St. Ives Body Polish very much, which can do the same exfoliating effect on my hands, and most importantly, St. Ives’ products are much cheaper. Although the body polish is now discontinued and I would need to find something to replace it after I finish using my existing one, I don’t really see a big reason to spend HKD$275 on a hand scrub.
6 Responses to “Review: March 2012 Glamabox”

  1. pearlessence March 9, 2012 at 11:42 AM #

    Wow, that looks like a pretty quality-sized moroccan oil and C&E hand treatment. Also, I love Clinique’s A Different Grape!

    • Adele March 9, 2012 at 12:37 PM #

      That’s actually a moroccan argan oil shampoo, and I agree that the sample size from Organix and C&E are pretty decent. I love the lipstick too, but maybe not too suitable for my everyday look.

  2. vanessa beaute March 18, 2012 at 9:25 PM #

    Coo! Did you every try MyLuxBox – I think it’s more similar to glossybox as they feature high end brands – This month I got Benefit foundation in MLB!

    • Adele March 18, 2012 at 11:21 PM #

      I haven’t tried MyLuxBox yet, and I don’t think I will subscribe to it at the moment, because 2 beauty box subscriptions would be a bit too much for me. Do you find it better than Glamabox? I saw a review on their March box and seems like it’s pretty good with Burt’s Bees lip shimmer and Benefit foundation included, good bargain!

  3. huiling07 March 19, 2012 at 10:44 AM #

    I am subscribed to glamabox and i receivedc Lierac Paris Exclusive Intense Nuit Wrinkle-filing Night Cream and Lierac Paris Exclusive Ultra Jour Wrinkle-filing Day Cream the batch code is 914206 n 911206. did you received the same batch code? i checked the batch code at checkcosmetic.net and found out it is manufactured during May 2006. I do not know is it very accurate. So i want to find out any glama girls receive the same batch code as me.

    • Adele March 19, 2012 at 4:25 PM #

      I do have the same batch code. I have never heard of that website before, and not sure if the information there is accurate. I think you should better e-mail Glamabox Team and ask them for more details. It would be very disappointing if they are giving out expired products to us.

Leave a Reply

