Review: Senka, Skin Lotion Made from Moisturizing Cream (Dewy)

26 Feb

I first heard about this skincare product from a Taiwanese TV beauty show; it has also received a lot of positive reviews in Asia. The brand Senka may not sound familiar, but it is actually a low-end skincare brand by the Japanese cosmetics brand Shiseido. This skin lotion is formulated with Royal Jelly and Hyaluronic Acid, so it’s supposed to provide long-lasting moisturizing effect. It also claims that it’s an all-in-one product, simplifying skincare routine.

Senka Skin Lotion (Front)

Senka Skin Lotion (Front)

Senka Skin Lotion (Back)

Senka Skin Lotion (Back)

I bought the dewy one, instead of the refreshing one, because my skin is pretty dry during winter, so I want something rich. It’s very easy to distinguish between the two, the dewy one has a pink cap and the refreshing one has a white cap. The information on the bottle is mostly in Japanese, with some Chinese and minimal English.

The skin lotion is colour-less; the texture is pretty thick, it’s more like a liquid serum. It’s meant to be fragrance-free, however I think it has a strong alcohol smell, which I wasn’t impressed.

The instruction suggests us to apply using a cotton pad, while some people suggest padding the product directly with your hands. I have tried both ways. My skin absorbs the product better when I pad directly with my hands, but I prefer using cotton pad.

I have to say the first impression wasn’t good, my skin felt a bit sticky and wasn’t really hydrated. After using it for more than a week, I still don’t like this product. It’s supposed to give my skin a moisturized feeling like a moisturizing cream, but my skin doesn’t feel hydrated, especially my nose, it remains very dry.

One side note: maybe it’s because I don’t really like applying gel-formula skincare products on my face, and that’s why I also don’t like the famous Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid moisturizing lotion.

To be honest, I don’t think I’m going to repurchase this product. It might be my skin type or my own preference, I personally don’t think it worth the hype at all. I rather use Shiseido AquaLabel toner instead. I also like Shiseido’s Perfect Whip Foam, so if you want to try a new facial cleanser, that’s a good choice too.

P.S. I bought mine at Mannings at HKD$88, but I later found them at the beauty retail store Bonjour priced at HKD$85, which came with a small sample too. I guess from now on, I am not going to buy anything at Mannings or Watson’s, everything there is marked at a higher price!

Leave a Reply

