Review: Cetaphil, Gentle Skin Cleanser

17 Feb

After finish using my Yes To Carrots daily cream cleanser, I had to look for a new facial cleanser, because I don’t think the Yes to Carrots’ line is sold in Hong Kong. Since coming back home, my skin started to break out and have rashes, especially on my cheek; so when I saw people recommending Cetaphil’s Gentle Skin Cleaner for sensitive skin, I decided to give it a try. I saw them at Watson’s, and it was sold at HKD$79.9 for 237mL. However I went to a local pharmacy and found that they were sold at a cheaper price, so definitely check out your local pharmacy instead of the chained ones.

Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser (Front view)

Cetaphil’s Gentle Skin Cleanser HKD$68

Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser (Back view)

Description on the back of the bottle

When I first poured the cleanser out, I was expecting the texture to be thicker, but it was more like a liquid gel. The cleanser is fragrance-free and colour-free. After using it for the first time, my skin felt clean and softer, and it didn’t make my skin feel tight and dry.

I have been using it for a week already. Not sure if it’s because I switched to this product or it’s just because my skin is recovering itself, my skin is back to normal now, and has become softer too.

This cleanser is relatively cheap and very gentle to your skin. However, there is one downside: the cleanser doesn’t come with a pump, so it isn’t that convenient to use and it’s hard to control the amount being poured out each time. On their website, the photo shows that their products do come with a pump, so I’m guessing it’s just because I bought the 237mL one, instead of the 473mL, which was the one shown on the website.

One more thing to add: on its website, it says that the cleanser is great for daily makeup removal; however I’m a bit skeptical about that. I tried to remove the make-up swatches on the back of my hand, but it didn’t remove much. Therefore, I will never use this product as a make-up remover.

P.S. I later found them sold even cheaper at the beauty retail store Bonjour, I think it was around HKD$60.

Leave a Reply

