Review: Revlon, ColourBurst Lip Butter, Peach Parfait, Berry Smoothie & Pink Truffle

3 Feb

I finally bought the Revlon Lip Butter. It’s a rare purchase for me, because I don’t wear lip stick at all, I only put lip balm; however, recently I am looking for a tinted lip balm. 2 months ago, I bought the Mentholatum Water Colour Vintage Pink (01) (HK$26.0), and it was a total disappointment, because the colour looks weird on my lips and it doesn’t feel comfortable, it made my lips dry and flaky. I also thought of buying Burt’s Bee’s tinted lip balm, but I heard that they don’t worth for the price, so I was a bit hesitant.

As I saw so many good reviews about the Revlon Lip Butter, I decided to go for it. I heard that they are always out of stock in the States, but I don’t think they are that popular in Hong Kong. I easily found them at one of the Watson’s stores. I didn’t want to buy a lot, because I’m not sure if I would like them and I’m not sure if these products suit me. I checked out all the colours and in the end I chose Peach Parfait (025).

They were originally HKD$98, but for some reasons, they were sold at a discounted price today. After paying, I was tempted to buy a second one, but I decided to try out this one before deciding whether I want to get another one.

Revlon's Lip Butter Peach Parfait

Revlon’s ColourBurst Lip Butter Peach Parfait (025) (HKD$78.4)

Revlon Lip Butter Peach Parfait

Revlon’s ColourBurst Lip Butter Peach Parfait in the tube

The packaging is nice and decent, and I like how they named their products, sweet and cute. Some people commented on the clear top, which allows you to see the lip colour; however I still think the colour you see doesn’t always reflect how it looks on your lips.

Swatch: Revlon's Lip Butter Peach Parfait

Swatch: Peach Parfait (025)

Peach Parfait was a bit lighter than I thought, I had to put a few coats on before the colour showed up on my hand. I actually don’t think the colour is very peachy; on my lips they look like a coral colour, in between peach and pink with lots of golden sparkles. The lip butter glides on smoothly and it’s moisturizing, but I don’t think it lasts long. If your lips are really dry, I suggest applying lip balm beforehand, because they are not super moisturizing, not hydrating enough for those who have chapped lips. The colour looks okay on my lips, but I really didn’t like the sparkles, they weren’t super glittery, but you can see tons of sparkles when you look closer.

Overall, I would say it’s worth buying if you are looking for a product to add a bit of colour on your lips, the price is very reasonable and the quality is pretty good. I might buy one or two more colours and update later.

Update (7/2/2012):

Went to Watson’s and got another one, Berry Smoothie (050). This time I finally saw the little tag which says 20% off, so again I got it for HKD$78.4, a really good bargain.

Revlon's Lip Butter Berry Smoothie

Revlon’s ColourBurst Lip Butter Berry Smoothie (050) (HKD$78.4)

This colour is more pigmented and less shimmery; the texture, of course, is buttery and it glides on easily. Peach Parfait and Berry Smoothie look pretty similar when applied on my hand, but on my lips, I like Berry Smoothie more, because this berry-pink colour looks better and I like how it doesn’t have that much sparkles in it.

Swatch: Revlon's Lip Butter Berry Smoothie

Swatch: Berry Smoothie (050)

Update (30/4/2012): 

Was randomly hanging in Watson’s and saw a 25% off discount sign for Revlon’s Lip Butter. After swatching a few different colours on my hand, I decided to get Pink Truffle (01), and it was only HKD$73.5.

Revlon ColourBurst Lip Butter Pink Truffle

Revlon’s ColourBurst Lip Butter Pink Truffle (01) (HKD$73.5)

When I first saw the colour, I thought it might be too dark for me. However, when I swatched it on my hand, it wasn’t that bad, and on my lips, it actually looks very natural.

Swatch: Revlon's Lip Butter Pink Truffle

Swatch: Pink Truffle (01)

It’s kinda of hard to describe Pink Truffle, I would say it’s a plumy pink with a brown undertone. It is a nude colour and because it doesn’t have glitter, so it’s great for everyday wear.

Swatch: Peach Parfait (top), Pink Truffle (middle), Berry Smoothie (bottom)

Swatch comparison (From top to bottom): Peach Parfait, Pink Truffle, Berry Smoothie 

The three colours might look very similar when applied on my hand, but on my lips they are completely different. Peach Parfait is peachy coral colour and it is very shimmery, not my favourite because of the glitter and the colour doesn’t look very flattering on me. Pink Truffle has a brown undertone, it is less shimmery than the other two and is great for everyday wear. Berry Smoothie is a berry-pink colour, looks bright on my lips with a bit of shimmer, so it’s great if I want to give my lips a pop of colour.

Downsides:  

  1. It’s hard to take the lid off, even when I use both my hands. Well, maybe for some people it’s a good thing, because the lid won’t easily come off when you put it in your bag. However, I found it a bit inconvenient, especially I’m used to using one hand to take the lid off.
  2. I think it’s because the product itself is very buttery and soft, so when you pull out too much product and then twist it back into the tube, the mouth of the tube will get a bit messy. The lip butter itself can easily break in the middle, so do take good of it, and try not to leave it under the sun. My Pink Truffle broke in less than a month I got it.
  3. Sometimes my lip becomes flaky and skin starts to peel. Not sure what causes that, because it doesn’t happen all the time, but I guess I won’t recommend these lip butters to people who have dry lips.

Current Favourite: Berry Smoothie (050), Pink Truffle (01)

4 Responses to “Review: Revlon, ColourBurst Lip Butter, Peach Parfait, Berry Smoothie & Pink Truffle”

  1. Anna March 30, 2012 at 6:29 PM #

    Hi there! Thanks so much for your post on the lip butters 🙂 do you know if there are any more upcoming sales at Watsons on them? And what other colours are available in Watsons HK? Thx!

    • Adele March 30, 2012 at 9:56 PM #

      I haven’t seen any discount at Watsons recently, but will definitely keep an eye on it. 🙂

      I don’t have the list of colours available in Hong Kong, but I believe there are 10 colours in total, others include Pink Truffle, Creme Brulee, Macaroon, Sugar Plum, Cherry Tart, Brown Sugar, Raspberry Pie. Still missing one more colour though…

      • Anna April 2, 2012 at 3:37 PM #

        Thanks Adele!

    • Adele April 29, 2012 at 12:19 AM #

      Hi Anna, I have just been to Watson’s in Shatin today and they are having a 25% off for Revlon’s lip butter and I got mine at HKD$73.5. Not sure if all the Watson’s stores have a discount, but you might wanna go and check it out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

