Food Discovery Trip at Cabramatta

22 Jan

I planned a food discovery trip to Cabramatta and had a list of restaurants and food I would like to try, however this wasn’t a really successful one. I was planning to try the crispy chicken dry noodles at Tan Viet Noodle House, but it is currently under maintenance until 2nd Feb. I was also planning to try the doughnuts and fried banana fritters at Kaysone Sweets, but again the shop is closed and will be reopened on 25th Jan. I was pretty disappointed, but luckily still got to have some Vietnamese food.

After realizing Tan Viet Noodle House wasn’t opened, I was so hungry that I just randomly went into a restaurant, without trying to find the other ones recommended by many food bloggers.

Pho 54, Cabramatta

This restaurant is the typical kind of Asian restaurant, not too fancy interior and average service. The moment I sat down, I asked for the menu and the man just pointed outside, because they only have the menu on one of the walls, so I had to get up to check out their menu. I wasn’t too sure what to go for, so I just went for the first pho on the menu, which the man referred as Pho Special.

Pho Special

Pho special (AUD9.50)

The Pho Special was a combination of beef tripe, tendons, brisket and meatballs. For me, it was a pretty big portion. I would say it’s good, but not sure if it’s one of the best. One thing is note though, most of their customers were Vietnamese, so I guess it should be authentic and up to their standard.

It was so hot inside the restaurant, especially after having a big bowl of hot noodles and drinking some hot tea, so I was desperately searching for a cold drink. I was looking for a place called Hung Vuong to try their avocado shake, which was recommended by one of the food bloggers, but I couldn’t find it at all. During the searching process, I saw Viet Hoa Hot Bread, a place recommended for its Vietnamese roll. Of course, I couldn’t eat a pork roll after a big bowl of pho, so I went for their pandan waffle.

Pandan waffle

Pandan waffle (AUD$1.50)

The edge was crunchy; the inside was soft and chewy. I don’t really remember how pandan should taste like, so I’m not sure if it really has pandan flavour. At first I thought it was just like a normal waffle, but I actually finished the whole thing very quickly. It’s pretty good!

After the pandan waffle, I was still looking for a cold drink. I was wandering around, going in and out of the little streets and shopping centers, and came to Yummi Sweets. I have seen many people holding a cup of drink with the word “Yummi’ on the street, so I guess it should be pretty popular. It was also the only store I saw selling avocado shake, so I decided to give it try.

Avocado Shake, Yummi Sweets

Avocado shake (Small: AUD$4.0)

The lady put in a few chunks of avocado, some ice, some milk and something which I believe is syrup, gave it a quick blend, and voilĂ  it’s done! It is very milky and creamy, with a hint of avocado flavour. At first I thought I couldn’t finish it, because it was very rich, but I eventually finished the whole thing. Try this if you like milk shake or something rich and creamy. If not, you can have a sugar cane drink, very popular choice among the locals.

Before I left, I also got some crumbed chicken thighs from Red Lea.

Red Lea, Cabramatta

The store is pretty big, one side selling fresh chicken, and another side selling friend chicken and chips. I heard that their chips are pretty good, but wasn’t in mood of having chips that afternoon, so I only got 4 crumbled chicken thighs.

Crumbed chicken thigh

Crumbed chicken thigh (4 for AUD$10)

Although they were cold the moment I arrived home, I found them pretty good. The skin, of course, was no longer crispy, but the flesh is still juicy. I would love a little bit of seasoning though, so I had to add a bit of pepper before munching them down.

Pho 54 (2/54 Park Road, Cabramatta, NSW 2166)
Environment: 7/10
Service: 7/10
Food: 8/10

Viet Hoa Hot Bread (John Street, Cabramatta, NSW 2166)
Environment: N/A
Service: 7/10
Food: 8.5/10

Yummi Sweets (Park Road, Cabramatta, NSW 2166)
Environment: N/A
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 8/10

Red Lea (Shop 57 John Street, Cabramatta, NSW 2166)
Environment: N/A
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 8/10

Leave a Reply

