Restaurant Review: Meet Fresh, Haymarket

18 Jan

Meet Fresh is pretty popular among the Asian population here in Sydney, but I wasn’t too interested in trying it, as they don’t look very attractive to me. I have been to Taiwan twice, however I have never tried these type of Taiwanese desserts there. Now it’s summer in Sydney and I was craving for some cold desserts, so I decided to give it a try.

Went there on a weekday afternoon, and the store was pretty busy. There weren’t a lot of staff preparing and serving the customers, so people had to wait for some time before being served and for their orders.

Meet Fresh Taro Balls Dessert 4

Taro Balls Dessert 4: Taro Balls (Taro + Red Beans + Pearls) (AUD$5.50)

I wasn’t expecting too much, but surprisingly I actually like it. The moment I got home, the ice has already melted, but it was still cold. I really like eating black pearls, and I get really upset when they are soggy. The pearls I had were chewy, the taro were soft and fluffy. As for the taro balls, they are chewy but I don’t think they taste really special. I was also a bit surprised that the red beans are the bigger size ones, but not the small red beans that I’m used to in Hong Kong. Overall, it was pretty good; it isn’t pricey in Australian standard but I’m very sure they are a lot cheaper in Taiwan and the portion would be much bigger.

One extra point to add, their takeaway container is pretty sturdy and it doesn’t spill at all, even after a bumpy bus ride.

Environment: N/A

Service: 7.5/10 (Nothing special, just average service. Can be a longer wait during busy hours)

Food: 8 /10 (Black pearls and taro balls are chewy, taro and red beans taste good too. Not too sweet)

Overall: Not bad. If you want to try something different, you can give it try.

Address: 13 Goulburn Street, Haymarket, NSW 2000

Official website: http://meetfresh.net/

Leave a Reply

