Restaurant Review: Hong Ha Hot Bread, Mascot

17 Jan

Half a year ago, I remember I was taking the bus to the airport to pick up my friend, it passed by this local bakery at Mascot and I saw this long queue outside. I didn’t know what they were waiting for, but I remember writing down the name of the bakery. I completely forgot about it, not until a few days ago, I was reading some blog posts about Cabramatta and some bloggers mentioned about the Vietnamese roll at Mascot. So I decided to go there to have a try, since I don’t live very far away from Mascot.

I got there at 12:30pm on Tuesday, and there were at least 15 people in front of me and more than 5 people behind, so you can imagine how popular their Vietnamese rolls are. You get really hungry when you are in line, because the smell keeps coming out from the bakery; luckily it wasn’t a really long wait, I got my order and was back on the bus 10 minutes later.

According to the notice, there has been an increase in price since 2nd January, but AUD$5 for a roll is still a pretty good deal. For the same price, I would rather get this Vietnamese roll than Subway.

Pork Roll

Pork Roll (AUD$5)

I am very picky with baguette, and there aren’t a lot of bakeries in Hong Kong that make real tasty baguettes. I have to say Hong Ha Hot Bread’s baguettes are beautifully crispy yet soft and fluffy inside, they are not dry yet still crispy. Not completely sure what they have inside, but I can see pickled carrots and onions, coriander, cucumber, pork slices, pate, and some seasoning and sauce. Absolutely delicious! I don’t remember if I ever had these Vietnamese roll before, but this has to be one of the best sandwiches ever!

Hong Ha Hot Bread

I heard that they have stores at other locations, though some people say the original store in Mascot is still the best. I tried to access their website, but it didn’t work. Anyway, this is a really good place to stop by for lunch or for a teatime break.

Environment: N/A

Service: 7.5/10 (Don’t expect super friendly service, they are just busy, but they are not rude)

Food:  9.5 /10 (Best sandwich ever!)

Overall: Be patient, especially during lunch time. It’s not a convenient location for most people, but definitely worth trying!

Address: 1151 Botany Rd, Mascot, NSW 2020

Official website: www.redroll.com.au (Doesn’t seem to work though)

P.S. Check out my other blog post for a review on the chicken roll.

Leave a Reply

