Restaurant Review:, Adriano Zumbo, Manly

11 Jan

I saw their new menu a couple of weeks ago, and was so excited to try out their new cakes, particularly the Grandma’s Soap and V8 Christmas. Although I was very full after having BenBry burger, I still insisted going to Adriano Zumbo to try out their new products. This is actually my second time at Adriano Zumbo, but I was at their Balmain store last time. This store is located at a quiet area, a street away from The Corso, where most tourists walk by. Luckily I checked out their address before going there, because the sign is so tiny and I think people would not notice its existence at all.

Adriano Zumbo Manly

The tiny sign outside the Manly store

Adriano Zumbo

Shaded area around Adriano Zumbo

According to my previous experience, the cake might melt or fall apart on my way home, so I decided to eat it right away. There are some chairs and tables at the nearby area, and has a beautiful view of the harbour too!

V8 Christmas

Christmas v8 (AUD$10)

  • Cinnamon Creme Chantilly
  • Morello Cherry Jelly
  • Pain D’épices
  • Toasted Nougat Brulee
  • Vanilla Chiffon Cake
  • Vanilla Ganache
  • Pistachio Crunch
  • Pistachio Dacquoise

The cake was nicely presented, you can see each layer clearly, but I’m sorry to say that I was a bit disappointed. Even though I have a sweet tooth, this cake was way too sweet that I didn’t want to finish the last bite. The cherry jelly was very obvious; I’m not a fan of cherry, but luckily they had that layer there, because the fruity and slightly sour taste helped to lower the sweetness of the cake. Although I didn’t like this cake, I love the truffle on the top of the cake.

I still want to try other cakes, but maybe I should go back to the Balmain store. The staff at the Manly store wasn’t too enthusiastic; and when she put the box into the plastic bag, the box fell on the side, and the cake slide to the side of the box, luckily the cake wasn’t ruined. I also went back to ask her for a spoon, but she had no intention giving me a napkin, which was just next to the spoon.

Environment: N/A

Service: 7/10 (The staff wasn’t too enthusiastic, and she nearly ruined my cake)

Food: 7.5/10 (A bit disappointed)

Overall: Wasn’t too impressed this time, hopefully it would be better next time.

Address: Shop 1a/40 The East Esplanade, Manly, NSW 2095

Official website: http://adrianozumbo.com/

Leave a Reply

