Restaurant Review: BenBry Burgers, Manly

10 Jan

Have been in Sydney for nearly 11 months, but I still haven’t been to Manly yet, so I decided to go there for a walk on a sunny day. I did some research on the recommended restaurants/food in the area, and found Not So Nigella’s review on BenBry Burgers.

BenBry Burgers, Manly

This place isn’t difficult to find, just walk down the Corso towards Manly beach, and you will see the street on your left before the traffic crossing. I arrived at around 1:30pm, and there were about 8 people eating inside the restaurant, 4 people waiting outside the restaurant for their burgers. I wasn’t too sure what is their most popular burger, but I decided to get the Tropical Feast.

Tropical Feast

Tropical Feast – Prime Australian beef, streaky bacon, cheese, pineapple, lettuce, tomato, red onion, avocado, BenBry aioli, sauce tomato (AUD$10.50)

I was surprised when I opened the brown paper bag, because the burger is huge. I would say the beef patty wasn’t that thick, but it was juicy and tasty. I really like the combined flavour of the tomato sauce, avocado and aioli, the freshness of the tomatoes, lettuce and pineapple. However, after looking the description of the burger on its website, I don’t think the cheese inside the burger was that obvious. Although I love burgers with lots of cheese, this burger is still very delicious even without those melting cheese.

Environment: N/A (Not a lot of seats inside the restaurant)

Service: 7.5/10 (Waited for nearly 5 minutes until someone came out from the kitchen to serve me)

Food: 8/10 (Huge juicy burger)

Overall: It’s a bit pricey when compared to the burgers I had in the States, but I think it’s one of the best burgers I had so far in Australia. Thumbs up for the size of the burger.

Address: 5 Sydney Road, Manly, NSW 2095

Official website: http://www.benbryburgers.com.au/

I actually like Bondi beach more, because the beach is much bigger and deeper, and the sand is fine. There are a lot of stones, leaves and tiny tree branches in the sand on Manly beach, and the beach is much smaller, but I will revisit Manly again. Here are a few photos I took today:

Manly beach

Manly Beach

Walking along the coast

Walking along the coast to Shelly Beach

On the ferry back to Circular Quay

On the ferry back to Circularly Quay

Leave a Reply

