Review: EOS, Lip Balm (Summer Fruit)

20 Dec

The YouTube beauty world has been raving about this lip balm for such a long time; I didn’t know where to get it in Australia, so I waited until I went back to Hong Kong to get it. It was pretty difficult to find it, not all Sasa shops have them and most of them only had the Lemon Drop flavour, which I wasn’t that interested in. Luckily, I found the Summer Fruit one at one of the Sasa shops.

EOS Summer Fruit Lip Balm

EOS lip balm: Summer Fruit flavor (HKD$39)

I really like the summer fruit flavor, smells very fruity and sweet, but not sticky at all when you apply on your lip. And of course, the unique sphere shape.

Unique sphere shape lip balm

However, it does not glide on easily and it isn’t as moisturizing and long-lasting as I thought. One more downside about this lip balm is its unique packaging too! When compared with other lip balms, this is a bit too bulky to bring along with you . I  have never bought this lip balm with me when I’m out, I just leave it at home. It is taking up too much space when I put it in my cosmetics bag when I travel.

Well, I would say the price isn’t expensive for a lip balm; the overall quality, in fact, isn’t that bad. However, it’s not moisturizing enough for my dry lips. I won’t say it’s my favourite lip balm, I don’t feel like buying another one. I prefer my Mentholatum Maxlip lip balm more.

P.S. If you want to try EOS lip balm, they are sold cheaper at Bonjour and EOS hand lotion can be found there too.

Update (15/3/2012): According to the research done by Hong Kong’s Consumer Council, EOS Evolution of Smooth lip balm (Sweet Mint) contains DEHP, a type of phthalate plasticizers which is prohibited for use in cosmetics in many countries! Not completely sure if the Sweet Mint flavour has the same ingredients as the Summer Fruit one, but I believe they should be pretty much the same. They said that the product has a low level of DEHP, and does not indicate a risk to the health of consumers; however, it is suggested that consumers should avoid being exposed to DEHP.

Leave a Reply

