Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi Beach

16 Nov

I first heard of this annual event at one of my lectures; the lecturer was explaining how to organize an event, and how a local event become a popular annual event, and he used the Sculpture by the Sea at Bondi as an example. Since then, I have been looking forward to this event.

In fact, I went to Bondi Beach 2 weeks ago, however my friends were not so interested in the sculptures, and so I only got to see around 10 of them. As a result, I decided to come back myself to enjoy all the art work! The weather was so good, enjoying the sea breeze under a hot day. The only thing I didn’t enjoy was getting tanned, I just easily get sunburnt! I didn’t take a lot of photos and I don’t remember what their names are, but please enjoy the photos!

Sea breeze

Love the contrast between red (nail) and blue (sky)!

A red nail on the rock

One of the popular ones there! A skeleton overlooking Bondi Beach!

Skeleton over looking Bondi!

Another very popular one and one of my favourite! Huge water tap on the grass! How cool is that!

Water tap!

Love how this artwork is placed. It looks as if the man is looking at the sea from his window at home, with his pet sitting right next to him.

One of my favourite! At first I didn’t realize it was one of the sculptures, luckily I heard people talking about it. By the way, when you walk down the stairs, there isn’t anything else to see though.

Funny sign!

Old man and woman with toads

For some reasons, I really like the nails lying on the sand.

Nails on sand

I remember this sculpture has a really cute name!

Do you want to watch this old-fashioned TV or the sea view?!

Old style T

Or do you want to play golf?!

Golf course by the sea

I guess this Xmas reindeer is definitely feeling the heat!

Reindeer

I nearly missed out this one, didn’t really notice it. It would be perfect if this was really my home. Best sea view!

Perfect home!

Italian Coca Cola

A submarine or a shark?!

Shark submarine

Huge wine bottle

One of the popular ones. You will see a lot of people trying to imitate them.

Watch out! Lions at Bondi!

Beware! Lions!

I stopped at San Churro’s before I took the bus back to Bondi Junction. The chocolate hazelnut was very delicious and rich, but it was melting and the staff didn’t pour the drink into the cup properly, so I ended up having chocolate on my white T-shirt…

San Churro's Chocolate Hazelnut

Definitely enjoyable to look at those sculptures! However, it is really crowded even though I was there on Tuesday afternoon. Anyway, do check it out, still a few days to go until 20th November 2011.

Official website: http://www.sculpturebythesea.com/exhibitions/bondi.aspx

Leave a Reply

