Restaurant Review: Max Brenner, Paddington,

15 Sep

Been to Max Brenner twice, once in June and once in July. I went there on a Saturday afternoon on both occasions, because I took my friends who were visiting Sydney to the nearby Paddington Market before heading to Max Brenner. So the Paddington store is the only one I have been to in Aussie so far, and I like their cute decoration!

Cute Max Brenner

Inside Max Brenner

DRINK ME! :)

Left: Peanut Butter Iced Chockie (AUD$7.60)

Right: Don’t remember what my friend got, probably it was the hot chocolate with crunchy waffle ball.

I really like the Alice Cup, if my luggage isn’t overweight, I will definitely buy one! The hug mug is cute too! The peanut butter iced chockie was really good, I love the combination of peanut butter and chocolate! The perfect drink when it’s hot and sunny outside!

The second time I went there, I tried something else.

Italian Thick Chocolate

Italian Thick Chocolate (AUD$6.0) with the unique bald man napkin.

Tutti-Frutti Waffle

Tutti-Frutti Waffle (AUD$18.5)

This time it was a like-and-dislike experience. I thought I would like the Italian Thick Chocolate, however it was too rich for me and it was not the kind of chocolate taste I like, if that makes sense. However, the tutti-frutti waffle was super good! Crunchy on the outside and chewy inside! And guess what made my friend and I so excited, there were BANANAS! I haven’t bought any bananas since I got here, because they are too expensive! AUD15 per kg, you must be kidding! I can get a whole lot of them back in Hong Kong! My friend and I love bananas, so we got really excited when we saw those banana slices! Of course the waffle was really good with the yummy chocolate sauce, ice-cream and strawberries!

Environment: 8/10 (Can be a bit crowded and hard to get a seat, but generally comfortable and not too noisy)

Service: 8.5/10 (The staff were really nice. They always come and ask customers if they want to have some water or not. I guess it’s because after a rich chocolate drink or dessert, people usually want a cup of water to clear their throats. Even the store is always packed with people, they do not force customers who have finished their drink or dessert to leave, which always happen in Asian countries; you can sit down and relax as long as you want. )

Food: 8.5/10  (Like the waffle a lot, but the hot chocolate drink was a bit too rich for me. Maybe I should try something else next time)

Overall: I love Max Brenner. Their waffle is the best! Didn’t really like the drinks I have ordered so far, but I think I should try others out.

Address: Shop 437, Oxford St, Paddington NSW 2021

Official Website: http://www.maxbrenner.com.au/

Leave a Reply

