Restaurant Review: Adriano Zumbo, Balmain

11 Sep

My friend invited me to her home for dinner, but I didn’t know what to bring. I have been thinking of trying Adriano Zumbo for a long time, so I decided to go there to get some of their cakes for dessert. I went there on a Saturday afternoon and it was packed with people. The shop is very small, I nearly walked pass it, luckily there was a queue outside the shop.

Adriano Zumbo

(Left Top to Bottom: malt & teaser, passiondor, lukas on the ride)
(Right Top to Bottom: what a great pear, passionfruit tart)

malt & teaser (AUD$9)

Official description: chocolate sabayon mousse, almond malt dacquoise, malt bavaroise, vanilla creneaux, almond praline feuilletine

It started to melt when I got home; before I got to my friend’s home, it kinda of collapsed already. I didn’t put the cakes in the fridge, thinking the weather was still cool… maybe I should put them in the fridge next time. Anyways, despite the ugly appearance, this cake is so good!

passiondor (AUD$9)

Official description: hazelnut dacquoise, praline feuilletine noisette, passionfruit milk chocolate ganache, passionfruit milk chocolate chantilly

Liked the different layers and texture. For me, it was a little bit sour, but still acceptable.

lukas on the ride (AUD$9)

Official description: macadamia dacquoise, macadamia praline mousse, vanilla chantilly, pear tatin and macadamia nougatine

My favourite out of all! I was given a small piece to try when I was waiting to be served at the store, and I was immediately impressed by it! My friends like this one too!

what a pear (AUD$9)

Description: choux pastry, pear & vanilla creme patissier, almond crunch, pear mousse, pera gel, chocolate square and marzipan

The green colour actually looks a bit scary to me, but it was good, it’s like a creme puff with pear jelly inside.

tarte aux fruits de la passion (AUD$6)

Official description: passionfruit curd and pâte sucrée

We were all shocked by how sour this fruit tart was, I guess it’s because everyone was expecting it to be a fruity tart with a hint of sour. For those who like sweet treats may not like this one. Although I didn’t like it at the beginning, it wasn’t that bad after all, you just need to be prepared before you have a bite.

Oh no, I’m so bad at describing food! Sorry for the bad quality photo too! Although my description is so bad, Adriano Zumbo’s cakes are amazing, should definitely try them if you have a chance!

Environment: N/A

Service: 8.5/10 (The staff were friendly and helpful. Even though it was fully packed, she explained to me in details when I asked her about the cakes. She even told me to be careful while handling the cakes, and it would be better to hold with both of my hands rather than carrying it in a bag.)

Food: 9/10 (A little bit pricey but super delicious!)

Overall: I love their cakes so much! Their location is not convenient for me, but will definitely revisit again!

Address: 296 Darling St, Balmain NSW 2040

Official Website: http://adrianozumbo.com/

Leave a Reply

