Restaurant Review: Menya Noodle Bar, Chinatown

25 Jun

I have seen a lot of blogs talking about Menya, so I decided to take my friends there for dinner. We chose the Chinatown store, because we were at Central Station. The location wasn’t that easy to find, as I thought it was exactly on Quay Street; however, it was actually on the other side of the shopping center. It would be easier to find the restaurant if you walk from Market City.

Tempura Udon

Tempura Udon (AUD$12.50)

Deluxe Mini Ramen Set

Deluxe Mini Ramen Set (Don’t remember how much it was exactly, I guess it was around AUD$13-15)

I didn’t really enjoy the Tempura Udon, because the soup was too salty, so I had to keep on drinking water when I ate the udon. Another thing was the tempura, many bloggers have mentioned that too, they should serve it separately, because the crispy batter is one of the main features of tempura. The tempura shrimp and a seafood mixture tempura (not sure what it should be called) were soggy when I ate them.

My friend and I both like the ramen more. The pork was so tender and the ramen was just right. The gyoza weren’t that good, I was expecting a bit more because I had a look at their website the night before and the picture of the gyoza there looks nice. However, the gyoza weren’t hot and weren’t crispy enough. The teriyaki beef bowl was different from what we were used to, because the beef tasted like 蘿蔔牛腩 (a Hong Kong dish, something like braised beef). Though it was different from what we expected, the teriyaki beef rice was good.

I guess I might give it another try next time, or try other stores too.

Environment: 7/10 (Need to share with other customers at their 2 long tables, not a place you can sit down longer and relax after your meal)

Service: 7.5/10 (I would say it’s nearly self-served, but the staff did help customers finding a spot to sit down after ordering, and bringing up the food to you)

Food: 7.5/10 (Was expecting a little bit more than that)

Overall: Not my favourite Japanese restaurant, like their teriyaki beef bowl and the ramen texture is good, but not their tempura.

Address: Shop TG8, 8 Quay Street, Haymarket, NSW 2000

Official Website: http://menya.com.au/

Leave a Reply

